GRANDparents Should Pay Attention to Medicare Proposals

Analysis of Romney Medicare Proposals Sounds Loud Warning that Nation’s Seniors Need to Hear

Governor Romney on Oct. 3: ‘So If You’re 60 or around 60 or Older, You Don’t Need to Listen Any Further;’ Report Released in Advance of Vice-Presidential Face-off Makes Clear Why Seniors Need to Listen More Closely as Medicare Is Debated

By:  Ron Pollock, Families USA

Families USA, the national organization for health care consumers, will release an analysis on Thursday that details five major ways the Medicare proposals of Governor Mitt Romney and his running mate Rep. Paul Ryan would have a negative health care impact on today’s Medicare recipients and those nearing 65 years of age.

The analysis reveals in stark terms why the debate comment of presidential candidate Mitt Romney on Oct. 3 was completely misleading. When the topic of Medicare was raised, Romney said, “So if you’re 60 or around 60 or older, you don’t need to listen any further. . . .”

In fact, Romney is proposing changes that will dramatically affect current Medicare recipients. An analysis of those proposals by Families USA shows clearly why seniors SHOULD listen. Under Romney’s proposals:

* Medicare premiums and co-insurance costs would rise;
* Costs for prescription drugs and preventive care would increase;
* Seniors with long-term care needs would lose many of their health care services;
* The Medicare Trust Fund would be depleted; and
* Traditional Medicare for today’s seniors would be weakened.

A teleconference for media will be held on Thursday, Oct. 11, to discuss this Families USA analysis.

WHAT: Teleconference and Release of Families USA Analysis of Governor Romney’s Proposed Medicare Changes

WHEN: 12:30 p.m. EDT, 11:30 a.m. CDT, 10:30 a.m. MDT, 9:30 a.m. PDT
Thursday, Oct. 11, 2012

HOW: Dial in toll-free: 888-438-5524
Confirmation code: 2706741

WHO: Ron Pollack, Executive Director, Families USA

Did you like this? Share it:

Share this article with your friends...

PinIt